Author Topic: CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD  (Read 712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MIRKOSOFT

  • 128D user
  • *******
  • Posts: 1008
  • Country: sk
  • Reputation: 188
  • Gender: Male
  • C128 programmer
    • View Profile
    • MIRKOSOFT
CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD
« on: January 01, 2012, 02:34 PM »
Hi!

I used HD-TOOLS128 to change device number of my CMD-HD... of course I followed instructions to set CMD-HD into configuration mode...

Never succesfull - always appears message "HD IS NOT IN CONFIGURATION MODE"

I have CMD-HD connected by parallel RL Cable, attached one CDRW and one DVDR + 4GB external HDD...

Know anybody how to change device number of CMD-HD by other way or where I do the mistake?

My CMD-HD has devnr #9 and I want to change it to devnr #13...

Many thanks for every help, replies or comments,

Cheers,

Miro
MIRKOSOFT of megabytes

Commodore 64 was great, Commodore 128 is bigger, better, faster, more intelligent and more powerful for one purpose only... is targetted to programmation...

64ever 128her
sixty-for-ever one-twenty-either

C128 = C64² + more

http://commodore.mirkosoft.sk

Offline Hershey

  • KIM-1 user
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Country: ca
  • Reputation: 6
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • elitebbs
Re: CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2012, 06:51 PM »
Hi!

I used HD-TOOLS128 to change device number of my CMD-HD... of course I followed instructions to set CMD-HD into configuration mode...

Never succesfull - always appears message "HD IS NOT IN CONFIGURATION MODE"

I have CMD-HD connected by parallel RL Cable, attached one CDRW and one DVDR + 4GB external HDD...

Know anybody how to change device number of CMD-HD by other way or where I do the mistake?

My CMD-HD has devnr #9 and I want to change it to devnr #13...

Many thanks for every help, replies or comments,

Cheers,

Miro

You do not say if you have a ramlink connected with the parallel hook up cable. If you do you need to turn off the parallel access using  @P0  then run the hd configure program. to turn it on again @p1 or just reset computer. page 2.7 in the ram link manual under hd parallel hook up. Rather hard to find in manuals because it is not in the hard drive manual
 
Hershey
Hershey

Offline MIRKOSOFT

  • 128D user
  • *******
  • Posts: 1008
  • Country: sk
  • Reputation: 188
  • Gender: Male
  • C128 programmer
    • View Profile
    • MIRKOSOFT
Re: CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2012, 11:27 PM »
Hi!

Many thanks for info.

I found it in RAMLink manual... but always helps not...

Where is my mistake?

Many thanks for everything.

Miro
MIRKOSOFT of megabytes

Commodore 64 was great, Commodore 128 is bigger, better, faster, more intelligent and more powerful for one purpose only... is targetted to programmation...

64ever 128her
sixty-for-ever one-twenty-either

C128 = C64² + more

http://commodore.mirkosoft.sk

Offline maraud

  • VIC 20 user
  • ****
  • Posts: 163
  • Country: 00
  • Reputation: 45
    • View Profile
Re: CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2012, 02:21 AM »
Just curious, do you also have a serial cable attached?  I always leave both cables (parallel and serial) attached as suggested by the CMD manual and I don't have a problem. Sometimes getting the keypress sequence just right on the front panel is a pain.    I sometimes have to run through it twice before it works.
Cheers!  -=Maraud=-
Be sure to "call" maraud.dynalias.com (port 6400)
AABBS 128 12.5c, Rear Admiral Hyperdrive (AKA LtK II)

Offline MIRKOSOFT

  • 128D user
  • *******
  • Posts: 1008
  • Country: sk
  • Reputation: 188
  • Gender: Male
  • C128 programmer
    • View Profile
    • MIRKOSOFT
Re: CHANGING DEVICE NUMBER OF CMD-HD
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 03:07 AM »
Hi!

My problem was that I disconnect parallel cable and leave only serial... then I tried it like you wrote in your reply...

WORKS!

Many many thanks.

Miro
MIRKOSOFT of megabytes

Commodore 64 was great, Commodore 128 is bigger, better, faster, more intelligent and more powerful for one purpose only... is targetted to programmation...

64ever 128her
sixty-for-ever one-twenty-either

C128 = C64² + more

http://commodore.mirkosoft.sk